This is the "8th Grade - Debate" page of the "Harvard-Westlake Middle School LibGuides" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
7th Grade - African Economics7th Grade - African Ethnic Groups7th Grade - Hinduism/Buddhism
8th Grade - Country Research8th Grade - Current Events Project8th Grade - Debate8th Grade - Food of the Ancestors Project8th Grade - Imperialism Project8th Grade - U.N. Position Papers8th Grade - World War I SpeechIntegrated Science II - Astronomical Body Project
9th Grade - History Primary Sources9th Grade - Persuasion and Argument

Admin Sign In 

Harvard-Westlake Middle School LibGuides 

Project guides for 7th, 8th and 9th grade classes
Last update: Jun 2nd, 2010 URL: http://hwms.libguides.com/hwms  Print/Mobile Guide  RSS Updates \"ShareThis\"

8th Grade - Debate            Print/Mobile Page
  

Research Tools

 

Books In The Middle School Library

The first place to start any research is to see what is available at the Library. If you cannot find what you are looking for, ask a librarian. If you need a password to access a database, click here. Hint: The password is the name of the building where your debate classes meet.

Periodicals and Subject Databases

The next step is to use the Library's Databases. Here are links to useful databases for this project. Remember you will need a password if you are access this from home. For passwords, click here. Hint: the password is the name of the building where debate classes are held--"old town."

  • Global Issues In Context  
    Provides global perspectives on issues of international importance and current world events and topics in the news related to these issues.
  • SIRS - Social Issues Resource Series  
    Full-text articles selected from domestic and international publications covering social issues and controversial topics.
  • Proquest Direct  
    Magazine and newspaper index, including the N.Y. Times, offering citations and full text articles.
  • Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center  
    Pro and con essays, select newspaper and magazine articles, research guides, and statistics on numerous current and controversial issues.
  • CQ Researcher  
    In-depth analysis of current and controversial issues--includes background information, opposing viewpoints, statistics, and more.

Useful Website Links

  • IDEA - International Debate Education Association  
    Includes a section with, "... Arguments for and against hundreds of debating Topics, written by expert debaters, judges and coaches. Also included are background summaries, links to websites of interest and recommended books, example motions and user comments."
  • ProCon.org - Pros and Cons of Controversial Issues  
    A site created to, "promote critical thinking, education, and informed citizenship. Our sites present controversial issues in a straightforward, nonpartisan, primarily pro-con format."
  • Debatewise  
    A subsection of the IDEA website that allows registered users to post to debate topics in a wiki format. Because of the wiki format, the quality of the arguments can vary significantly.
 

My Profile

Profile Image
Munger Library
Contact Info:
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading content... please wait